Recent Posts

Friday, November 24, 2017

Book Blitz with Giveaway - Single Rider by Skye Leah Collett

Single Rider
by Skye Leah Collett
Genre: Women's Fiction


This is a story about a woman named Kenzie. A woman who knows what she wants and likes things just the way they are, thank you very much. 

This is also a story about a man named Max. Max can be a real pain in the ass. 
And finally, this is a story about Dash, ex-husband extraordinaire, who likes to get down to the Scissor Sisters and parties a little too much. 
And Katie, the best friend who parties far too much and can expertly defend herself against sexual harassment accusations. 
And Claudia, sister, mother and head of the school parent’s association, long time tea drinker. The chalk to Kenzie’s cheese. 
And Michael, the one that got away. 




(The one in the hat!)

First time author of Single Rider Skye Leah Collett, refuses to concede that her debut novel is in any way Autobiographical.
Her ex-husband doesn't buy it.
He won’t shut up about the similarities between himself and the vibrantly likeable supporting character Dash. Unrelenting in his conviction that the imagined fellows resemblance is as unsubtle as the nose on his handsome face, he’s adamantly staked a claim in sharing any perceived future celebrity entitlements. He is also one of this author's biggest fans.

Sydney born but a devoted Brisbane girl for almost three decades, Skye’s stories centre on the lives and relationships of individuals living in modern suburban Australia. Their friendships, their increasingly overbearing families and of course their lovers.

Her father's dedication to waffling, unapologetically long winded stories is a treasured family trait passed on through generations and Skye’s rich, colourful characters are painstakingly crafted to become people you wished you knew and become reluctant to farewell.
Skye spends an unseemly indulgent amount of time pinching herself as a reminder that she is indeed awake and very much a person who finished writing a novel.
She’d adore hearing from anyone who feels inclined to make the effort or just wants to say hey.

Skye Leah Collett can be reached anytime via her many varied social media locations!





Follow the tour HERE for exclusive excerpts, guest posts and a giveaway!


Tuesday, November 21, 2017

*Grabby Hands* Release & Review - Roomies by Christina Lauren

Image and blurb from Goodreads

Title: Roomies
Author: Christina Lauren
Category/Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance
Publication Date: December 5th, 2017
Publisher: Gallery Books

Marriages of convenience are so…inconvenient.

Rescued by Calvin McLoughlin from a would-be subway attacker, Holland Bakker pays the brilliant musician back by pulling some of her errand-girl strings and getting him an audition with a big-time musical director. When the tryout goes better than even Holland could have imagined, Calvin is set for a great entry into Broadway—until he admits his student visa has expired and he’s in the country illegally.

Holland impulsively offers to wed the Irishman to keep him in New York, her growing infatuation a secret only to him. As their relationship evolves from awkward roommates to besotted lovers, Calvin becomes the darling of Broadway. In the middle of the theatrics and the acting-not-acting, what will it take for Holland and Calvin to realise that they both stopped pretending a long time ago?
 


Buy LinkAmazon

4 “Shipping the fake married couple” Stars

ARC via NetGalley

Thank you, Gallery Books!!!

Dude, this was SOOOOOO good! Roomies is hands down my favorite Christina Lauren’s book, and one of my favorite contemporary romance reads of the year.

I’m a sucker for a good fake relationship/marry for a visa trope, and this is probably one of the best stories about that trope I’ve read in a long time. I loved so many things about Holland and Calvin’s love story.

First, I loved Calvin. The whole sexy musician/cute Irish accent thing was doing it for me. Big time. I think I pretty much swooned every time he said something Holland perceived as Irish-y, which was almost all the time and that was fine with me. The fact that Calvin played his guitar as if he was making love to his music didn’t hurt his case, either. I think I had a crush on him as big as the one Holland did even before I got to know him well. And then he turned out to be respectful, adorable and funny, and I was a goner. Come play for me, Calvin!


I also really, really liked Holland. I was more than pleased with the single POV here and that’s because Holland was such an entertaining character to follow. She had a great sense of humor without being over the top, and her struggles felt authentic. Like Holland, I’ve looked at my life and wondered what I was doing, felt disappointed in myself for my lack of focus and/or motivation, wondered if I was ever going to achieve my dreams. Holland’s going through that phase, and I liked how her struggle was portrayed in realistic, non-overdramatic way.

The fact that I like both Holland and Calvin made it only easier to ship them as a couple. And I shipped them hard.

“My phone lights up with a single text: And I despite every night I go to sleep without you.”


The whole let’s going to get fake married so you can get a visa and do what you love while I help the people I loved worked really well here because: 1) Calvin and Holland had good chemistry from the start; 2) Like Holland, the pretending to be flirting and in love got my feelings all mixed up in a great way; 3) they both had great motivations to get into this deal.

Holland’s relationship with her uncles was one of my favorite things about this book. I LOVED so many of their scenes together, and they were not only adorable and cute, but also funny AF. The table/birthday scene was hilarious. In fact, this book made me laugh quite a lot.

Calvin and Holland’s passion for music, writing and Broadway also played a huge part in this story, and it all felt cohesive. I don’t know as much about Broadway as I wish I did, but I always seem to enjoy books centered in this world. Roomies was no exception.

As you can see, this book truly worked for me. Having said that, there were a few things I wished had been different, mainly the Lulu subplot (felt a little like girl on girl hate with the jealousy thing), the breakup (I couldn’t fully get behind Holland there, because I thought she overreacted a bit) and the “almost fade to black” sexy scenes (with all that tension building, I expected more).

Those things aside, I’m super, super thankful I got my hands on an early copy of this book and I can’t wait for everyone to read it and love it as well.

*If you liked this review (or not), if you read the book (or not), come say hello and leave your comments bellow.

Monday, November 20, 2017

Blog Tour & Guest Post - Defiant Attraction by V.K. Torston

TwitterBanner

V.K. Torston's debut novel, Defiant Attraction is finally available on Amazon! In celebration of the release, US-Brazil Book Review is digging a little deeper into some of the imagery in the novel. Today, V.K. Torston is joining us to discuss the cars of Defiant Attraction and their meanings.

The Cars of Defiant Attraction

Teaser_Chevy

When I decided to set Defiant Attraction in the Detroit Metro Area, aka "Motor City", I knew that every car would have to be loaded with meaning. Both Sophie's mom and Dan's dad work in manufacturing and factories dot the horizon of their suburb. Theirs is a community deeply entwined with the auto industry. In this context, cars became important imagery, and offered an opportunity to relay character nuance.

Chevy Dan's Chevy

This 1959 Chevrolet Panel Truck harkens to the heydey of American manufacturing. The very concept of "teenagers" and "youth culture" was emerging at this time, and automobiles represented boundless freedom. As an added bonus, the expansive, seatless back is basically a mobile makeout room. But vintage models like this require both strength (they rarely have power steering), as well as finesse and committed upkeep.

74Ford Frank's Ford

From the catastrophe of the Pinto to the needlessly muscular Comets, the mid-Seventies wasn't a good era for Ford. Style championed over substance and flashy, aggressively masculine models dominated assembly lines. But the designs were reckless and the results proved unreliable (even dangerous). A '74 Ford like Frank's would be considered a foolish investment.

Pontiac Hannah's Mom's Pontiac

Among car enthusiasts, the Pontiac Aztek is something of a joke; a well-intentioned concept that never really came together. And while Pontiac is a brand of Michigan titan, GM, the Aztek models were manufactured outside the U.S. But a pre-owned model like Hannah's mom's would likely be affordable, and defenders insist upon its reliability.

2017toc260002_320_01 Stuart's Toyota

Safe, practical, fuel efficient, the Toyota Camry is the kind of car parents buy for their kids (if they're the kind of kid whose parents buy them new cars). This model is unassuming and normal to the point of invisibility. But if you see an Oakland or Wayne County kid driving a Toyota, odds would be that he doesn't have a factory family.


Dan might be the enemy of my enemy, but I’m not sure that makes him my friend. He’s definitely not my ‘step brother’, no matter what everyone at school says. Honestly, I don’t know what he’s supposed to be to me. Or what he’s becoming…

Fact: for every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction.

In the yearbook, I’ll be Sophia Ramos: Valedictorian. Years of honor roll certificates, AP classes, and lugging around an obnoxiously large cello case are about to finally pay off. If everything goes according to plan, I’ll escape these decaying suburbs for a top university across the country.
The problem? A few years ago, my mom met someone just as broke, just as drunk, and just as impulsive as she is. Approximately five seconds into their relationship, they decided it would be an excellent idea for him—and his son, Dan—to move in with us. (Spoiler alert: it wasn’t).
Now I share a house with none other than Daniel Cole. Even though Dan dropped out two years ago, he’s still the tattooed, bad boy, heartthrob, legend of St. Anthony’s Academy. He and I aren’t supposed to have anything in common.
Living together means war. First, Dan and I were at war with each other. Now, our rivalry is giving way to an unlikely alliance—two opposing sides teaming up against a common enemy: our respective parents.
Which is to say, we’ve been hanging out.

Question: What happens when an unstoppable force meets an immovable object?
Here’s the thing: My brain is a complex organ. One hundred billion neurons, each with an average of seven thousand synaptic connections to other neurons. My brain is my ticket out of here.
My heart, by contrast, is a pump. It moves blood around.
know Dan is off-limits. I know I shouldn’t do something I’ll regret. And I know how much is at stake (my family, my future).
So why can’t I stop thinking about him? Those inscrutable jade eyes. The smile that can say a thousand different things at once. That tattoo curving across his abs…
Even though I know better, I feel that pounding in my chest. And it’s getting harder to ignore.
But if I follow my heart, I can never go back.

Answer: There is no such thing as an immovable object.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Buy LinkAmazon

DATeaser_Friction

vkheadshot
V.K. Torston is a millennial and ‘cool aunt’ to a brood of nieces and nephews. She was born and raised in San Francisco, attended university in New York City, and aspires to one day live in London. A veteran of the independent music scene, she began writing nonfiction in her late teens. Then she realized that making up stories was way more fun than coming up with endless synonyms for ‘frenetic’ and ‘danceable.’ Her hobbies include drinking too much coffee, making up stupid songs, and ranting about current events. Defiant Attraction is her first novel.

Twitter: @vktorston Website: www.vktorston.com Goodreads Author Page

Cover Reveal - Over Us, Over You by Whitney G.

Title: Over Us, Over You
Author: Whitney G. 
Publication Date: November 30, 2017 
Genres: New Adult Contemporary Romance
Subject: Delete this message after you read it... Dear Hayley, I'm assuming you're still hungover, so I'll make this brief. Last night, you slipped under my sheets (without my permission), and we almost had sex. I got the hell out of the bed once I realized it was you, and I took you home. That's the story. The end. Period. Just in case you've forgotten, you're my best friend's little sister. We will never be anything more. (We can't be anything more.) Our previous friendship is still unresolved--or "over" in your terms, so I'd prefer if we worked on becoming 'just friends' again since you're in town. Nonetheless, I'm not a man who leaves questions unanswered--even the drunken ones, so to properly close our inappropriate conversation: 1) Yes, I liked the way your lips felt against mine when you were on top of me. 2) Yes, I do "prefer" rough sex, but I'm pretty sure I wasn't rough with you. 3) No, I had no idea you were still a virgin... This message never happened, Corey.

Preorder: Amazon | iBooks

Whitney G. is a twenty-eight-year-old optimist who is obsessed with travel, tea, and great coffee. She’s also a New York Times & USA Today bestselling author of several contemporary novels, and the cofounder of The Indie Tea–an inspirational blog for indie romance authors. When she’s not chatting with readers on her Facebook Page, you can find her on her website at http://www.whitneygbooks.com or on instagram: @whitneyg.author. (If she’s not in either of those places, she’s probably locked away working on another crazy story.) Don’t forget to sign up for Whitney’s monthly newsletter here: http://bit.ly/1p9fEYF

Thursday, November 16, 2017

Release Blitz with Review - Defiant Attraction by V.K. Torston

TwitterBanner
Title: Defiant Attraction
Author: V.K. Torston
Age Category/Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance
Release Date: November 16th, 2017


Dan might be the enemy of my enemy, but I’m not sure that makes him my friend. He’s definitely not my ‘step brother’, no matter what everyone at school says. Honestly, I don’t know what he’s supposed to be to me. Or what he’s becoming…

Fact: for every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction.

In the yearbook, I’ll be Sophia Ramos: Valedictorian. Years of honor roll certificates, AP classes, and lugging around an obnoxiously large cello case are about to finally pay off. If everything goes according to plan, I’ll escape these decaying suburbs for a top university across the country.
The problem? A few years ago, my mom met someone just as broke, just as drunk, and just as impulsive as she is. Approximately five seconds into their relationship, they decided it would be an excellent idea for him—and his son, Dan—to move in with us. (Spoiler alert: it wasn’t).
Now I share a house with none other than Daniel Cole. Even though Dan dropped out two years ago, he’s still the tattooed, bad boy, heartthrob, legend of St. Anthony’s Academy. He and I aren’t supposed to have anything in common.
Living together means war. First, Dan and I were at war with each other. Now, our rivalry is giving way to an unlikely alliance—two opposing sides teaming up against a common enemy: our respective parents.
Which is to say, we’ve been hanging out.

Question: What happens when an unstoppable force meets an immovable object?
Here’s the thing: My brain is a complex organ. One hundred billion neurons, each with an average of seven thousand synaptic connections to other neurons. My brain is my ticket out of here.
My heart, by contrast, is a pump. It moves blood around.
know Dan is off-limits. I know I shouldn’t do something I’ll regret. And I know how much is at stake (my family, my future).
So why can’t I stop thinking about him? Those inscrutable jade eyes. The smile that can say a thousand different things at once. That tattoo curving across his abs…
Even though I know better, I feel that pounding in my chest. And it’s getting harder to ignore.
But if I follow my heart, I can never go back.

Answer: There is no such thing as an immovable object.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Buy LinkAmazon

DATeaser_Friction

4 “(Almost) Stepbrother” Stars

ARC provided by the author.

Thank you!

Fans of forbidden romance, welcome and enjoy, because this book is so good.

I had a pretty good idea I’d enjoy this book when I read an excerpt and immediately connect with the main character’s voice. There’s just something special about how Sophia Ramos tells her story, and the more I read, the more I was taken by how eloquent she was without sounding like someone twice her age.

I try to think of each fight like an earthquake--a release of pressure that will make things calmer for a while. I try not to think about how, sometimes, earthquakes cause tsunamis.

Sophia was smart—like “got accepted into Stanford” smart—and she was pretty funny, too. While her academic life was going more than fine, thank you very much, her home life was a mess.

Her mother and “boyfriend/husband” get drunk practically every night and shout in each other’s faces, and Sophia’s only ally inside their house is Dan, her sort of “stepbrother’s”, who also happens to be HOT.

The relationship between Sophia and Dan seem innocent enough at first. I LOOOVED their silly teasing and games. The whole throwing popcorn at each other, filling each other’s pants with ice cubes, making funny faces when no one was looking sort of thing really did it for me. I was laughing out loud and smiling like a goon the whole time.


I also loved how they kept each other company as their parents tried to destroy their houses during their fights. There was something special about these two people that are so different coming together to give each other strength.

But innocent games didn’t last long. This is probably the only thing I wish had gone differently in this story. I wish the transition between friends to “wait, why am I thinking about sexing you” to the actual sexing would’ve been longer. A little slow burn would’ve helped with the tension.

But, yeah, when things heated up, I kind of forgot all about more build up because, damn, they were good together. Like hot and forbidden and dangerous and good!


For those worried about the stepbrother angle, I say don’t. Dan and Sophia hadn’t grown up together and been taught to think of each other as siblings, hence why she calls him an “almost” stepbrother. The biggest forbidden angle for me is the fact that they live under the same roof and have to do a lot of sneaking around a lot (and all of them are really hot, trust me).

The whole “will they or won’t they get caught” kept me turning pages desperately. I don’t know if this book was more on the short side or what, but I read it so freaking fast I couldn’t believe it had already ended.

While Sophia and Dan’s relationship were the focus on the story, I also loved the friendship between Hannah and Sophia. They genuinely cared about each other, and even when things happened that pushed them apart, they found each other again and were pretty mature about fixing their broken friendship.

Another plus is the writing. I really enjoyed the emotions the author managed to bring out in these characters and how realistic the whole story was. It’s hard to find a good, well-written forbidden romance, but this was definitely a winner.

There’s not much more I can say about this book other than, if you’re into New Adult stories and don’t mind a little forbidden romance, then you will not regret reading this.

vkheadshot
V.K. Torston is a millennial and ‘cool aunt’ to a brood of nieces and nephews. She was born and raised in San Francisco, attended university in New York City, and aspires to one day live in London. A veteran of the independent music scene, she began writing nonfiction in her late teens. Then she realized that making up stories was way more fun than coming up with endless synonyms for ‘frenetic’ and ‘danceable.’ Her hobbies include drinking too much coffee, making up stupid songs, and ranting about current events. Defiant Attraction is her first novel.

Twitter: @vktorston Website: www.vktorston.com Goodreads Author Page

Tuesday, November 14, 2017

*Grabby Hands* Release & Review - Without Merit by Colleen Hoover

Image and blurb from Goodreads

Title: Without Merit
Author: Colleen Hoover
Category/Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
Publication Date: October 3rd, 2017
Publisher: Atria Books

Not every mistake deserves a consequence. Sometimes the only thing it deserves is forgiveness.

The Voss family is anything but normal. They live in a repurposed church, newly baptized Dollar Voss. The once cancer-stricken mother lives in the basement, the father is married to the mother’s former nurse, the little half-brother isn’t allowed to do or eat anything fun, and the eldest siblings are irritatingly perfect. Then, there’s Merit.

Merit Voss collects trophies she hasn’t earned and secrets her family forces her to keep. While browsing the local antiques shop for her next trophy, she finds Sagan. His wit and unapologetic idealism disarm and spark renewed life into her—until she discovers that he’s completely unavailable. Merit retreats deeper into herself, watching her family from the sidelines when she learns a secret that no trophy in the world can fix.

Fed up with the lies, Merit decides to shatter the happy family illusion that she’s never been a part of before leaving them behind for good. When her escape plan fails, Merit is forced to deal with the staggering consequences of telling the truth and losing the one boy she loves.
 


Buy LinkAmazon

4 “Family & Forgiveness” Stars

Since this is CoHo, I knew there’d be major feels involved in reading this book, and as anxious as I was to get my hands on it, my life was a little chaotic when it was released. I’m glad I waited until I had time to savor this story to start it.

Without Merit falls more in the It Ends With Us category of CoHo’s books in the sense that, yes, the romance is still there, but the story is about more than just the main character finding someone to love. It’s still full of drama, angst and imperfect characters, which, for me, are the true marks of anything this author writes, but it’s a little darker, like CoHo’s last book.

Having said that, It Ends With Us is still a much better book than Without Merit. It doesn’t mean that WM isn’t really good (see the 4 stars above), but It Ends With Us was fantastic! That book is on a league of its own, as far as I’m concerned.

Now, CoHo’s new story grabbed my attention from page one. I immediately connected with Merit and the fact that she was different. A little odd, really smart in a non-conventional way, and there was something about her that I couldn’t pinpoint until much later on that spoke to me. As the story evolved and I got a better understanding of who she was and what she was going through, I ended up seeing a little of my teen-self in Merit, and that was what made this book extra special for me. The portrayal of depression in this story hit me right at the feels because it felt authentic and familiar. Depression is so complex and it manifests in so many different ways, and while some may not identify with the way it was shown here, others like me will. For me, Merit’s experience was probably the closest to my own in all books I’ve read so far, so my love for this girl and for the way she handled herself throughout this book comes at no surprise.

Was the book perfect? No. I could identify some problematic ideas when I was reading, and after reading some reviews from friends, I thought back at some things that were said and can agree when they call it problematic, too. *sigh*

I also thought the book had a lot of contradicting ideas. One moment a character was saying something and a few pages later they said the complete opposite. WTF? There was also a lot of info-dump in the first few chapters, which, being familiar with CoHo’s writing style, surprised me. But CoHo’s writing kept that addictive quality, which means I pushed through the info-dump segments and, looking back now, I can see the importance of the information given in the beginning. We needed it to understand Merit and her family better. I still wish it’d been given in a different, more dynamic way, though.

All that aside, Without Merit was, as all CoHo’s books I’ve read so far, a story about complex characters. And damn if the Voss family wasn’t that and more. From Merit’s obsession with trophies, to the triangle between her mom, dad and stepmother, to the fact that they lived in a building that used to be a church, everything was over the top in a way that simply worked. I caught myself thinking “How can so many troubled people be part of the same family?” and “How can Merit be so unlucky?” over and over, but somehow it all worked.

It worked because it evoked feelings. I laughed, then my heart broke for Merit, then I fell in love with how mature Sagan was at times, and fanned myself during the kissing and making out scenes, then teared up with Wolfgang, and gasped when family secrets were revealed, and teared up again when siblings forgave each other, and laughed and swooned a little more.


But, really, there’s no surprise there. This is one of the reasons I love CoHo so much. She always takes me on a roller coaster ride.

*If you liked this review (or not), if you read the book (or not), come say hello and leave your comments bellow.

Book Bitz with Giveaway - Tempting Irish (Wild Irish #2) by C.M. Seabrook

Title: Tempting Irish
(Wild Irish #2)
Author: C.M. Seabrook

Genre: New Adult Romance

One rock god. One girl from his past. One ocean that can't keep them apart.



I've been in love with Owen Gallagher since I was twelve years old. Before the world knew his name.



Even though it's been years since I've been back to Ireland, I never forgot my Irish crush. The boy who saved me from his bully of a brother is now a dark, sexy, tattooed rock star who shreds the guitar like a true master.

A night of anonymity.

One night to live my forbidden fantasies.

He'll be furious when he finds out my true identity. But I'm not the same, shy little girl he remembers, and I have every intention of tempting my own Wild Irish.

Dreaming about a rock god is one thing, but I'm chasing that dream across an ocean.


Amazon bestselling author C.M. Seabrook writes hot, steamy romances with possessive bad boys, and the passionate, fiery women who love them. Swoonworthy romances from the heart!

Follow the tour HERE for exclusive excerpts and a giveaway!