Recent Posts

Monday, October 16, 2017

*Grabby Hands* Release & Review - Defiant Attraction by V.K. Torston

Image and blurb from Goodreads

Title: Defiant Attraction
Author: V.K. Torston
Age Category/Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance
Release Date: November 16th, 2017

Dan might be the enemy of my enemy, but I’m not sure that makes him my friend. He’s definitely not my ‘step brother’, no matter what everyone at school says. Honestly, I don’t know what he’s supposed to be to me. Or what he’s becoming…

Fact: for every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction.

In the yearbook, I’ll be Sophia Ramos: Valedictorian. Years of honor roll certificates, AP classes, and lugging around an obnoxiously large cello case are about to finally pay off. If everything goes according to plan, I’ll escape these decaying suburbs for a top university across the country.
The problem? A few years ago, my mom met someone just as broke, just as drunk, and just as impulsive as she is. Approximately five seconds into their relationship, they decided it would be an excellent idea for him—and his son, Dan—to move in with us. (Spoiler alert: it wasn’t).
Now I share a house with none other than Daniel Cole. Even though Dan dropped out two years ago, he’s still the tattooed, bad boy, heartthrob, legend of St. Anthony’s Academy. He and I aren’t supposed to have anything in common.
Living together means war. First, Dan and I were at war with each other. Now, our rivalry is giving way to an unlikely alliance—two opposing sides teaming up against a common enemy: our respective parents.
Which is to say, we’ve been hanging out.

Question: What happens when an unstoppable force meets an immovable object?
Here’s the thing: My brain is a complex organ. One hundred billion neurons, each with an average of seven thousand synaptic connections to other neurons. My brain is my ticket out of here.
My heart, by contrast, is a pump. It moves blood around.
know Dan is off-limits. I know I shouldn’t do something I’ll regret. And I know how much is at stake (my family, my future).
So why can’t I stop thinking about him? Those inscrutable jade eyes. The smile that can say a thousand different things at once. That tattoo curving across his abs…
Even though I know better, I feel that pounding in my chest. And it’s getting harder to ignore.
But if I follow my heart, I can never go back.

Answer: There is no such thing as an immovable object.


Buy LinkAmazon
4 “(Almost) Stepbrother” Stars

ARC provided by the author.

Thank you!

Fans of forbidden romance, welcome and enjoy, because this book is so good.

I had a pretty good idea I’d enjoy this book when I read an excerpt and immediately connect with the main character’s voice. There’s just something special about how Sophia Ramos tells her story, and the more I read, the more I was taken by how eloquent she was without sounding like someone twice her age.

I try to think of each fight like an earthquake--a release of pressure that will make things calmer for a while. I try not to think about how, sometimes, earthquakes cause tsunamis.

Sophia was smart—like “got accepted into Stanford” smart—and she was pretty funny, too. While her academic life was going more than fine, thank you very much, her home life was a mess.

Her mother and “boyfriend/husband” get drunk practically every night and shout in each other’s faces, and Sophia’s only ally inside their house is Dan, her sort of “stepbrother’s”, who also happens to be HOT.

The relationship between Sophia and Dan seem innocent enough at first. I LOOOVED their silly teasing and games. The whole throwing popcorn at each other, filling each other’s pants with ice cubes, making funny faces when no one was looking sort of thing really did it for me. I was laughing out loud and smiling like a goon the whole time.


I also loved how they kept each other company as their parents tried to destroy their houses during their fights. There was something special about these two people that are so different coming together to give each other strength.

But innocent games didn’t last long. This is probably the only thing I wish had gone differently in this story. I wish the transition between friends to “wait, why am I thinking about sexing you” to the actual sexing would’ve been longer. A little slow burn would’ve helped with the tension.

But, yeah, when things heated up, I kind of forgot all about more build up because, damn, they were good together. Like hot and forbidden and dangerous and good!


For those worried about the stepbrother angle, I say don’t. Dan and Sophia hadn’t grown up together and been taught to think of each other as siblings, hence why she calls him an “almost” stepbrother. The biggest forbidden angle for me is the fact that they live under the same roof and have to do a lot of sneaking around a lot (and all of them are really hot, trust me).

The whole “will they or won’t they get caught” kept me turning pages desperately. I don’t know if this book was more on the short side or what, but I read it so freaking fast I couldn’t believe it had already ended.

While Sophia and Dan’s relationship were the focus on the story, I also loved the friendship between Hannah and Sophia. They genuinely cared about each other, and even when things happened that pushed them apart, they found each other again and were pretty mature about fixing their broken friendship.

Another plus is the writing. I really enjoyed the emotions the author managed to bring out in these characters and how realistic the whole story was. It’s hard to find a good, well-written forbidden romance, but this was definitely a winner.

There’s not much more I can say about this book other than, if you’re into New Adult stories and don’t mind a little forbidden romance, then you will not regret reading this.

*If you liked this review (or not), if you read the book (or not), come say hello and leave your comments bellow.

Friday, October 13, 2017

Book Blitz with Giveaway - Just Friends (The Agency, #1) by Elizabeth Grey


Title: Just Friends 
(The Agency, #1)
Author: Elizabeth Grey
Publication date: September 15th 2017
Age Category/Genre: Adult, Comedy, Romance



Why did her heart have to choose him?

Violet Archer has her dream job at one of London’s top advertising agencies, and the fact she gets to work with Ethan Fraser every day makes it even better. He’s the best friend a girl could have. And she’s never even noticed how hot he is. Nope. Definitely not.

When a big night out deteriorates into a great big mess, Violet’s world starts to wobble like a drunk giraffe on stilts. She’s caught in a web of secrets, none of which are hers. And maybe she is starting to notice how hot Ethan is, after all. And sweet and kind and… oh dear.

Has Violet fallen for her best friend? Can their friendship survive yet another secret?

And, the question Violet is most scared to ask, could Ethan have feelings for her too?

This raunchy, hilarious rom-com is the first in The Agency series by Elizabeth Grey.


IT’S ONLY TAKEN THREE MONTHS, two weeks and five days, but here I am – in Stuart Inman’s Notting Hill bedroom, wearing underwear that screams ‘sex goddess’ and a spray tan that shrieks ‘never again!’
Thankfully Stuart is too busy burying his head in my cleavage to notice my tangerine armpits and stripy inner thighs. He’s also groaning and purring and nuzzling and . . . okay, I’m not really sure what he’s doing down there, but I hope he tries another move soon. I can think of much better things I’d like him to do to my boobs than use them as a pair of earmuffs.
Ah, good, he’s heading north now. I look into his deep blue eyes and remind myself why I’m here. Stuart Inman is hot. Think Matt Damon in an action movie: all blonde and ripped and gun-toting. Matt Damon, that is, with the gun-toting. Not Stuart. The only thing Stuart totes is a rather feminine Burberry man-bag.
He backs me up against his bedroom wall and I run my fingers over the taut muscles of his fabulous chest. Then I feel his lips brush against mine, his tongue darting in and . . . oh, sweet Jesus, what the . . . ?
Breathe. Close your eyes, think of England and for heaven’s sake, just breathe . . .
What in the name of all things holy was that? If it was supposed to be a kiss, then please don’t let him kiss me again. Talk about disappointing. Has he been practising his make-out skills with a bathroom sponge? I’ve kissed a few men in my life, and most of them have been far less confident, successful and drop-dead gorgeous than Stuart Inman, so how is it possible that he kisses like a half-starved pufferfish devouring a shrimp? Ugh . . . no. Just no.
I run my fingers over his abs, trying to avoid his hungry mouth. So what if he’s a crap kisser? We can work on the finer details later. The important thing right now is sex is happening – my eight-month-long drought is coming to an end and my velvet-touch, thirty-function, silicone Raunchy Rabbit can hop off into the sunset and do one.
His hands move over my body as he lowers me onto his bed. I look into his eyes, his cheeks dimpling as he smiles seductively. I should be kissing him, feeling him, touching him until we’re both sweaty and panting for more, but my stupid brain decides to torture me instead: Stuart kisses like a pufferfish. Stuart kisses like a pufferfish. Stuart kisses like a pufferfish . . . and . . . oh no, he’s nuzzling my boobs again . . . and oh my god! What the hell was that? Why are his pants stuck to my stomach? Oh shit, he has, hasn’t he? He’s shot his load. He rolls onto his back with a thump. “I’m sorry . . .” he whimpers.
I don’t know whether to laugh or cry. Where’s my Matt Damon action hero gone? Why does the fittest client I’ve ever worked with have less knob control than a horny teenager who’s just discovered Pornhub? What did I do to piss off the gods of shagging this time? Could life be any more bloody unfair? Come back, my beloved Raunchy Rabbit, I miss you already.
He turns to face me, but I don’t want to look at him. Yes, I’ll admit, I’m a coward. I can’t think of anything good to say, which, given words are my livelihood, is pretty pathetic.
“You’re just so hot. I’m sorry. I couldn’t help it.” He removes his sticky pants to reveal an appendage that could accurately be compared to a half-eaten Walnut Whip – sad, shrivelled and hollow. He crosses his legs in an attempt to hide his shame, and sadly, it doesn’t take much to hide it. How on earth didn’t I notice that before? I usually check out a guy’s bulge before I commit, don’t I? Jeez, this must be the most desperate for sex I’ve ever been in my entire life.
“It’s okay. Maybe next time?” I say, with the kind of insincere politeness a politician would be proud of.
“I can still go on. Just give me a minute,” he says with an enthusiastic tug to his manhood, and my stomach lurches. Do I want to have sex with a Matt Damon lookalike if he’s only packing a chipolata and kisses like a pufferfish sucking on a sponge?
Ten seconds later, he’s sliding his hand into my knickers and frantically rubbing away at what I’m sure he thinks is my clitoris, but of course, it isn’t. The gods of shagging wouldn’t be that merciful. I simulate a few polite moans and consider following through with a fake orgasm, but as he’s jabbing the inside of my leg with the elbow of the hand that’s futilely attempting to transform the chipolata into a frankfurter, I can’t take it anymore.
Mission abort! Mission abort!
“Okay, stop. Just stop,” I say as I squirm out of his grasp.
He removes his hand from inside my underwear and frowns at me. “What’s up?”
“Um . . . that’s not really doing much for me. Sorry.”
“What do you mean? What’s wrong with you? I always get girls off doing that.”
I feel my eyes pop. “Really?”
“Yeah, really,” he replies with an eye roll and way too much attitude. All of a sudden I have too many words, but as none of them are kind, I swallow them down and start putting my clothes back on.
Stuart tuts, gets up and pulls on a robe. I leave his apartment as fast as I can and head towards Holland Park Tube, flagging the first taxi I see on the way.




Elizabeth Grey spent a sizable chunk of her childhood in North East England locked away in her bedroom creating characters and writing stories. Isn’t that how all writers start?

Following a five year university education that combined such wide-ranging subjects as fine art, administration, law, economics, graphic design and French, Elizabeth entered the business world as a marketing assistant before moving into operations management.

Marrying Chris in 2007, Elizabeth now has three young children and runs a small, seasonal business selling imported European children’s toys and goods – www.tildaandtom.co.uk. During her time as a stay-at-home mum, Elizabeth rekindled her love of writing and thinks herself lucky every day that she is now able to write full time.

When not working, Elizabeth finds herself immersed in her kids’ hobbies and has acquired an impressive knowledge of Harry Potter (thanks to the big boy), Star Wars (thanks to the little boy) and Barbie (thanks to her daughter). She loves European road-trips, binge-watching Netflix series and doing whatever she can to fight for a nicer world.

She’s been told she never loses an argument.


XBTBanner1

Thursday, October 12, 2017

Book Blitz with Giveaway - Breaking the Cowboy's Rules

Breaking the Cowboy's Rules
Wildhorse Ranch Brothers Book 1
by Leslie North
Genre: Contemporary Romance


Ranch owner, Trevor Wild, loves nothing more than spending his day in the saddle riding in the Texas sun. He’s passionate about being the latest generation of Wild man to breed quarter horses on Wildhorse Ranch. But in the aftermath of inheriting a bad business deal the Ranch is in serious financial trouble, and this serious cowboy needs to look outside the box to save his family’s pride and joy.

Glamping guru, Sabrina Hearthstone, is the best of the best at what she does, and she could very well be Trevor’s saving grace. The blonde beauty arrives at Wildhorse Ranch ready to get the job done. She’s all business when it comes to bringing a little luxury to the leather and dirt clad Ranch. But soon she’ll realize that to renovate the Ranch for Glamping she may have to renovate it’s cowboy too.

Sabrina is tempting on a whole lot of levels for Trevorwhen he gives into both her touch, and the 1,000 thread count bed sheets, he finds that she soothes his soul. However, Sabrina’s world is a difficult thing for the hardened cowboy to accept. Trevor will have to learn to accept Sabrina and her changes to his world, not only to save Wildhorse Ranch, but to save a love he never expected to find.


Leslie North is the USA Today Bestselling pen name for a critically-acclaimed author of women’s contemporary romance and fiction. The anonymity gives her the perfect opportunity to paint with her full artistic palette, especially in the romance and erotic fantasy genres.

The truth of the matter is she loves her fictional persona, Leslie North, more than her normal, day-to-day persona! Her bestselling books focus on strong characters and particularly women who aren’t afraid to challenge an alpha male. Inspired after years of travel, her stories are set all over the world, from the tough streets of Russia to the beautiful beaches of the middle east.

Leslie fell in love with romance when she first picked up a scrappy, dog-eared romance book from her local library. She began writing soon after and the rest, as they say, was history. She now lives in a cozy cottage on the British coast and enjoys taking long walks with her two Dalmatians, George and Fergie.

She LOVES reader feedback, and if you have any comments, don’t hesitate to contact her!

Follow the tour HERE for exclusive excerpts, guest posts and a giveaway!

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

*Grabby Hands* Release & Review - Logan (Preston Brothes #2) by Jay McLean

Image and blurb from Goodreads

Title: Logan
(Preston Brothes #2)
Author: Jay McLean
Age Category/Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance
Publication Date: October 1st, 2017
 
As a kid, Logan Preston was a brat.
Through his teens, he became the bad boy.
Now, at nineteen, no one knows what the hell to expect.

High school dropout, Logan Preston is a
good-for-nothing stoner.
A black sheep.
A disappointment.
The worst Preston Punk of the lot.
At least that’s how everyone in his small town
makes him feel.
But Logan Preston has secrets.
Secrets so dark and so deep below the surface that the only way he can fight them is to stay high, high, high.
He wears cockiness as a mask.
Arrogance as his armor.
Until one girl, one night, asks one life-changing question:
What's beneath the bravado, Logan Preston?
 


Buy Links: Amazon

4.5 “Don’t Leave, Red” Stars

This was too much. I felt too much.

This book made me laugh. It made me cry. Made me want to be part of the Preston family and hug them all. It hurt me and confused me and also made me fall madly in love. I simply couldn’t put this book down.

What started out as a funny and sort of sweet romance between these two young people who pretended to hate each other for a while there turned out to be an angsty romance that kept me up until way past my bedtime.

Angst is my thing. Angst and slow burn, but while this wasn’t as slow burn as I sort of wished it were, it was more than angsty enough. If that’s your thing, too, you’ll want to read this.

Logan and Aubrey (Red) played with my feelings in merciless ways. I fell in love when they did, and I hurt so badly when things went to shit. I can’t say much about the big conflict because it’ll ruin the experience, but be ready to have your heart ripped out of your chest and stomped all over. That’s what happened to me, and I liked it.

Be ready to also fall in love with side characters. I absolutely adored the entire Preston family. Papa Preston was amazing in the way he cared for his children, but still managed to discipline them in a healthy way when needed, no matter how old they were. I lived for the brothers interacting and being silly—though I have to say Lachlan was my favorite. Loved that boy and how smart he was. That presentation he gave in the end ended me. I was as mess. A freaking mess. Lucy… damn, Lucy! Why didn’t I start by reading your book? (Side note: If you can, start by reading about the Preston family in order. I wish I had).

But the stars of the show are Red—and her traumatic experience with relationships—and Logan—and his problem with his self-destructive tendencies.

Logan’s arc is a hard one to watch unfold. He’ll do unforgivable things and he’ll make you feel so much, you’ll probably want to slap him and hug him and do it all over again. But I thought it was portrayed in a heart-breaking and realistic way, which means there won’t be rights and wrongs, but a lot of “grey” in between. Like life.

Red and Logan’s love story is divided in three parts and this is how I felt reading them.

Part 1




Part 2




Part 3

  



  
And Finally



So, if you’re into feeling like you just went through a rollercoaster ride at the end of a story, then this book is for you.
*If you liked this review (or not), if you read the book (or not), come say hello and leave your comments bellow.

Book Blitz - Tangled in Time (Miss Main Street #1) by Angela Castillo

Title: Tangled in Time
(Miss Main Street #1)
Author: Angela Castillo
Genre: Women's Inspirational Contemporary

Clean slice-of-life women's fiction with a romantic thread and Christian elements

Every small town has its secrets. Darcy’s have been locked up inside her since that last summer when she left Wimber, Texas, and the boy she loved, for a glitzy life in Los Angeles. 
Seven years later, her gran’s passed away. Darcy’s been named as the sole owner of the Tangled in Time antique store. Darcy can’t wait to get back to the place where she’s always felt she belonged. But owning a business isn’t as easy as it seems. And sometimes the past is better left alone. 

But Darcy is determined to push forward, despite the obstacles that cross her path. And maybe even have another chance to be with the man who stayed behind.



Angela Castillo loves living in the small town of Bastrop Texas, and draws much of her writing inspiration from life there. She loves to walk in the woods and shop in the local stores. Castillo studied Practical Theology and Music at Christ for the Nations in Dallas, Texas. She was home-schooled all through high school and is the oldest of 7 kids. Castillo's greatest joys are her little girl and two boys. Castillo has been published in The First Line, Aardvark's Ark, Heartwarmers, Thema, and several other publications, and also has works available on Amazon in paperback and Kindle format. Watch book trailers on my Amazon author page!

Follow the tour HERE for exclusive content and a giveaway!


Tuesday, October 10, 2017

Book Blitz with Excerpt - From this Moment by Melanie Harlow

FROM THIS MOMENT CR BANNER.jpg

Title: From this Moment
Author: Melanie Harlow
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publication Date: October 10th, 2017

MHFromThisMomentBookCover5x8_BW_300.jpg

It was like seeing a ghost.

When my late husband’s twin brother moves back to our small town, I want to avoid him. Everything about Wes reminds me of the man I lost and the life we’d planned together, and after eighteen long months struggling just to get out of bed, I’m finally doing okay. I have a new job, an amazing support group, and a beautiful five-year-old daughter to parent. I don’t want to go backward.

But I’m drawn to him, too. He understands my grief and anger and guilt like no one else—and I understand his. Before long, that understanding becomes desire, and that desire becomes uncontrollable.

He says he doesn't care what people think, and love can never be wrong. But life has taught me its cruelest lesson--love doesn't always win.

If only my heart would believe it.

SBPR-MH-FtM-ANv1_preview.png

Add to GoodReads https://goo.gl/J3ogH4

SBPR-MH-FtM-teaser7AN_preview.png

READ THE FIRST CHAPTER TODAY!

Harlow Headshot BW_preview.jpg
Melanie Harlow likes her martinis dry, her heels high, and her history with the naughty bits left in. When she's not writing or reading, she gets her kicks from TV series like VEEP, Game of Thrones, House of Cards, and Homeland. She occasionally runs three miles, but only so she can have more gin and steak. Melanie is the author of the HAPPY CRAZY LOVE series, the FRENCHED series, and the sexy historical SPEAK EASY duet, set in the 1920s. She lifts her glass to romance readers and writers from her home near Detroit, MI, where she lives with her husband, two daughters, and pet rabbit.

Twitter: @MelanieHarlow2
Sign up for Melanie’s Newsletter: http://www.melanieharlow.com/subscribe/